12 June 2022

FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022: Australia to Face Peru for final World Cup Spots on Monday

  • fifa

Doha, June 12 (QNA) - Australia and Peru will compete for the 31st ticket to the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022 at Ahmed Bin Ali Stadium in Doha on Monday.
The winner will join France, Denmark and Tunisia in Group D.
The second World Cup 2022 ticket will be decided on Tuesday between New Zealand, the champions of Oceania, and Costa Rica, the fourth of CONCACAF (North, Central America and the Caribbean) at Ahmad Bin Ali Stadium. The winner will join Spain, Germany and Japan in Group E.
The Peruvian team, ranked 22 in the world and led by Argentine coach Ricardo Gareca since 2015, hopes to reach the World Cup for the sixth time, after coming fifth in the South American qualifiers. The team qualified for the playoffs after it finished fifth in the South American qualifiers with 24 points.
Peru has competed in the FIFA World Cup five times, in 1930, 1970, 1978, 1982, and 2018. In 1970, it reached the quarter-final stage with a team inspired by the star Teofilo Cubillas, losing 42 to the eventual winner, Brazil.
Australia, ranked 42 in the world, is seeking to reach the finals for the sixth time as well. It participated for the first time in the 1974 World Cup and in the last four editions. The team reached the second round once in the 2006 edition.
Australia, led by coach Graham Arnold, has almost complete team with the only absent Tom Rogic.
Australia and Peru had previously met in the first round of the 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia.
Last Tuesday, Australia defeated UAE 2-1 in the World Cup playoff match between the two sides in Doha. (QNA)


Sports, Qatar, Australia, Peru, FIFA World Cup, Qatar 2022, Ahmed Bin Ali Stadium
Cookies help us improve your website experience.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.