02 August 2022

Uruguay, Argentina, Chile, Paraguay Run for Joint Bid to Organize 2030 World Cup

International and Arabic

Asuncion, August 02 (QNA) - Uruguay, Argentina, Chile, and Paraguay officially announced Tuesday their joint candidacy to organize the 2030 FIFA World Cup, on the centenary of the world championship, the first edition of which was held in 1930 in the Uruguayan capital Montevideo.
The joint candidacy of the four countries aims to hold the final match of the 2030 edition at the Centenario stadium in Montevideo, where the 1930 final match was held between Uruguay and Argentina and ended with a 4-2 score.
In a statement, Alejandro Dominguez, President of the South American Football Federation (Conmebol), said that as the world cup celebrates its centenary, it must return to its native South America.
In turn, the Uruguayan Minister of Sports Sebastian Bauza said that the peoples of South America believe that the name "World Cup of Memory" should be given to the 2030 edition, pointing out that what should be focused on is the centenary of the World Cup that started from Uruguay, which makes the Cup return to its homeland and its roots that started in 1930.
More than three years ago, the four countries committed to establishing a local organizing committee to coordinate with the governing body of the South American game to plan their candidacy. This will be the sixth edition of the World Cup to be held in South America after 1930 in Uruguay, 1950 in Brazil, 1962 in Chile, 1978 in Argentina, and 2014 in Brazil.
The South American dossier will face the joint European dossier of Spain and Portugal, which was announced in June 2021.
Only 13 national teams took part in the first edition of the World Cup in 1930, and the entire tournament was played in the capital Montevideo and in only three stadiums the 2030 edition will see the participation of 48 teams, and the four South American countries that are candidates to host it expect to hold their matches in 15 stadiums.
This is the first time that the number of candidate countries has reached four, noting that the 2026 edition will be held in three countries: the United States, Mexico, and Canada. (QNA)


Sports, International
Cookies help us improve your website experience.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.