15 June 2022

AFC Asian Cup 2023 Teams Finalized

International and Arabic
  • AFC

Kuala Lumpur, June 15 (QNA) - The teams for the AFC Asian Cup 2023 Finals were confirmed following the conclusion of the Final Round of Qualifiers on Tuesday.
Eleven teams booked their tickets from the six qualifying groups that were played in Bishkek, Kolkata, Kuala Lumpur, Kuwait City, Namangan and Ulaanbaatar, with Tajikistan creating history by confirming their first appearance in the Continental showpiece.
The 11 qualifiers join the 13 teams who had already booked their places after the second round of the AFC Asian Qualifiers.
Jordan emerged as the Group A winners with nine points, with Palestine topping Group B with a perfect record of three wins as well to qualify for their third successive AFC Asian Cup.
Group C was won by Uzbekistan, who also advanced to the Continental showpiece with a perfect record of three wins.
India was another side to qualify with a 100% record, defeating Hong Kong 4-0 on Tuesday to top Group D.
Bahrain was the standout side in Group E, as Helio Sousa's side made it three wins out of three, with a 1-0 victory over Turkmenistan on Tuesday, while Tajikistan finished as the Group F winners, ahead of Kyrgyz Republic on goal difference.
Advancing as the five best runners-up were Indonesia (Group A), Thailand (Group C), Hong Kong (Group D), Malaysia (Group E) and Kyrgyz Republic (Group F).
The 11 qualifiers join 2015 champions Australia, China PR, three-time champions Islamic Republic of Iran, 2007 titlists Iraq, four-time winners Japan, twice champions Korea Republic, Lebanon, Oman, reigning titleholders Qatar, three-time winners Saudi Arabia, Syria, the United Arab Emirates and Vietnam in the Finals. (QNA)


Sports, Asian
Cookies help us improve your website experience.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.